Flint Knapping Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Wood Hunting

2 posters

Go down

Wood Hunting Empty Wood Hunting

Post by grendel Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:31 pm

Since I been inspired by Skalla to begin stick making (or should I say Shillelagh) I thought I'd start post on wood hunting to try an answer basic questions like.

Where to find wood?
What kind of wood will be in my local park?
How to recognise wood?
How to get wood, cut it of/fallen?
What wood is it ok to take?
What time of year?

ect

Anyway I'm an amateur compared to other people on this forum, but fortunately live near and ancient forest. Generally I download picture of leaves on my Iphone and walk the woods trying to reconised the trees. there's usually a good number of fallen trees or trees cut down by surgeons for most of the year. I know with some forests some trees like Sycamore are almost consdered vermin and there's no problem cutting them, but others the park keepers get very narked.
grendel
grendel
Knap Meister
Knap Meister

http://www.prehistorics.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Wood Hunting Empty Re: Wood Hunting

Post by skalla Tue Jul 16, 2013 6:27 pm

I used to carry a Collins Gem book of British Trees and Shrubs for ID untill i knew the regulars, usually cost about 2.99 and more convenient than dropping a few hundreds quid of phone on a rock Smile

Parks often have lovely ornamental trees with hard to find wood - befriending a park keeper could pay dividends as all trees get pruned once in a while.  But it does not mean it will be good for a shillelagh...