Flint Knapping Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

2000 kilograms of flint (or chert) including transport

5 posters

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down

2000 kilograms of flint (or chert) including transport Empty 2000 kilograms of flint (or chert) including transport

Post by c.tennie Thu Sep 24, 2015 5:04 pm

Dear Knapping Forum,

I have written to three websites so far, but so far without success.

My name is Claudio Tennie, I am a researcher interested in the evolution of tool making and tool use, and I work at the University of Birmingham (School of Psychology). Here is my website: claudiotennie.com.

I would like to run a study on stone tool making here in Birmingham, and for this I will require about two tons (2000kg - yes this is not a typo) of knappable material (flint preferred, or else chert), all of which already pre-reduced to sizes appropriate to produce early stone tools (about 1kg each piece). So that would make 2000 individual items - all as standardized as is possible with this material.

Since I cannot just go to the city centre and buy this in a shop, I would oviously require professional help with this.

You see, I am currently writing a major grant proposal and would need a quote to enter the costs for these stones into it. Could somebody either provide me please with an estimate for the expected costs for this (including transport) or is somebody maybe able to send me a citeable quote?

Many thanks - and sorry for this perhaps weird-seeming request.

Best regards

Claudio Tennie

c.tennie
Debitage Artist
Debitage Artist

Back to top Go down

2000 kilograms of flint (or chert) including transport Empty Re: 2000 kilograms of flint (or chert) including transport

Post by grendel Sat Sep 26, 2015 1:31 am

Hi,

Wow! 2000 large spalls wanted, that's some job. Trying to get my head around the best method to do this.